Vang Lutheran Church, N. Dak. | June 2013

Friends of mine invited me to their a place near and dear to their heart, Vang Lutheran Church about 30 or so miles north of Highway 2 in North Dakota.  After miles of two-lane highway and gravel road, I had no idea I would see a beauty such as this. I spent about an hour at the site. The church was surrounded by gravestones with birth years as old as 1886. There was a lone tree that framed the church beautifully from behind. And off in the distance, I watched my friend and his daughter walk through his family’s memorials. Hearing his voice in the distance put a smile on my face to know how much this area mean to him. After looking at these photos a few days in a row, I continually fall in love with them over and over again. One building, different angles and colors.  Even more, the history of this church makes me speechless: baptisms, weddings, funerals, sermons. Life changing moments have been made here. I’m grateful I was able to capture a small moment in time with this beautiful piece of history to share with others.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For information or to purchase, deannburckhard@gmail.com | 218.791.0704.

4 Comments on “Vang Lutheran Church, N. Dak. | June 2013

  1. I would like to purchase this for my parents. Wondering how much this would be? Let me know of here or my cell phone 701-740-7231

    • Hi Sharyl,
      I’m so glad you like the photographs. It was a fun location to shoot. I’ll call you this morning to determine details. All the best. ~ DeAnn B.

  2. My grand parents Ralph and Myrtle Foyen Boe, my great grandparents Knute and Ida Qualy Boe, my great great grandparents Peter and Marguret Qually,along with Uncles & Aunts of various generations are all buried there. This is SCACRED GROUND!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for honoring this place!
    Mark Daley
    Santa FE, NM

    • So happy you enjoyed the photos. This really was one of my most favorite places to photograph.

      If there are any you’d like to have personally, you they are available at compassphotography.zenfolio.com.

Leave a Reply

